Your browser does not support JavaScript! The Phoenicians - Elissa founder of Carthage
The death of Elissa (Dido)<br>Rubens - Louvre Museum
The death of Elissa (Dido)
Rubens - Louvre Museum

Elissa founder of Carthage


Ancient Historians have long narrated in their stories about the Phoenicians, the adventurous people braving the seas in search of wealth. Their various facilities were scattered all around the Mediterranean Sea, in trading posts and at strategic locations. The Greeks and Romans, rivals of the Phoenicians and Carthaginians later on, have altered those sources and references of antiquity out of jealousy. The Phoenicians were represented as vicious and cunning merchants, attracted only by profit as motive(1).


Among the different Phoenician trading posts, a place, on the coast of North Africa, has been extremely known by its richness and independence. The city of Carthage, "Qart Hadath" (from Phoenician): The New Town, founded in 814 BC, was at the beginning, a stopover for ships laden with treasures and raw materials, on their way back from Spain.

The most famous story of the founding of this city remains that of Justin(2), narrating how Matten, King of Tyre, bequeathed the kingdom to his son Pygmalion and his daughter Elissa (Elissar - Dido). The inhabitants of Tyre, wishing a single sovereign, provoked dissension within the royal family. The gap increased especially after the marriage of Elissa to her uncle Acherbas, the high priest of Melqart, who enjoyed great authority to equal that of the king, and who had an enormous fortune. Pygmalion, impatient to appropriate the power and the wealth of his uncle, gave the order to have him assassinated, Elissa feeling threatened, decided to run away by using the ruse. In order not to raise her brother's suspicion, she expressed the desire to come and settle with him in the palace. Pygmalion accepted thinking that Elissa would bring all of her richness, He sent his vessels to bring her back to the palace.

Elissa waited for night to hide her treasures in the holds of the ship and ordered to have bags of sand prepared and placed on board. Once at sea, she threw the bags overboard, invoking the memory of her husband, imploring him to accept this offering. The king's servants were frightened to return to their sovereign and suffer the reprisals, they decided to stay with the princess and to accompany her in her journey. Several senators and some priests of the Melqart temple had joined the exile group and they all went to Cyprus to stock up with food and water. After completing the refueling, eighty virgins devoted to the temple of Astarte were kidnapped and were married to Tyrians who accompanied the princess. Elissa "The Vagrant" braved the sea and went in search of a "New City". Her ships will dock on the African coast of what is now Tunisia.

        Justin continues his story evoking the installation of the Tyrian convoy:
"Elissa, arriving in a gulf of Africa, attached the inhabitants of the coast, who rejoiced at the arrival of foreigners, and the opportunity of bartering commodities with them, to her interest. Having then bargained for a piece of ground, as much as could be covered with an ox-hide, (...), she directed the hide to be cut into the thinnest possible strips, and thus acquired a greater portion of ground than she had apparently demanded; whence the place had afterwards the name of Byrsa.

The people of the neighborhood subsequently gathering about her, bringing, in hopes of gain, many articles to the strangers for sale, and gradually fixing their abodes there, some resemblance of a city arose from the concourse. Ambassadors from the people of Utica(3), too, brought them presents as relatives, and exhorted them "to build a city where they had chanced to obtain a settlement". An inclination to detain the strangers was felt also by the Africans; and, accordingly, with the consent of all, Carthage was founded, an annual tribute being fixed for the ground which it was to occupy.

At the commencement of digging the foundations an ox's head was found, which was an omen that the city would be wealthy, indeed, but laborious and always enslaved. It was therefore removed to another place, where the head of a horse was found, which, indicating that the people would be warlike and powerful, portended an auspicious site"(4).

The city of Carthage prospered in the reign of Elissa, wealth grew with the arrival of new inhabitants and businesses were flourishing with merchants that flocked in from all over of the region. Hiarbas king of Maxitans the indigenous people, wanting to gain access to this new wealth, demanded Elissa's hand in marriage, otherwise he would declare war against her. The queen, refusing to betray her oath to remain faithful to the memory of her deceased husband, decided to end her life and threw herself into the fire.

Another version of Elissa's death was told by Virgil in the Aeneid. He said that the queen fell in love with the Trojan prince Aeneas, who was on his way to Italy, but was repulsed by the will of the gods to the coast near Carthage. The wedding between Aeneas and Elissa supposedly took place in a grotto, after which he established himself in the city, forgetting his quest. Jupiter will not be long to remind the Trojan that he should do his duty, and continue his journey towards Italy in order to create a new city. The prince along with his companions, set sails and forsook Elissa. The queen was stricken with grief, ordered to set fire to all the matters left by Aeneas, and then she pierced her heart with a sword and fell in the flames.

The Death of Dido<br>Cayot - Louvre Museum
The Death of Dido
Cayot - Louvre Museum

First a subject of Tyre, the city of Carthage gradually gained its independence, and was later governed by its own magistrates holding the title of suffetes. The city maintained a close relationship(5) with the mother country until the siege of Tyre by Alexander in 332 BC, when the besieged Tyrians tried to flee their city overnight, borrowing the ships heading for Carthage, where they had family and hoped to find a refuge from the war imposed on them by the Macedonians.

Elissa currency
Elissa currency

Carthage gradually assumed its own growth, and the inhabitants had begun to define their own commercial and diplomatic policies. Over the years they have succeeded in taking over from Tyre the guardianship of all Phoenician trading posts in the western Mediterranean. The Carthaginian dominance gave to the "Colony" a particularity that distinguished it from the "Mother City". Upon then, residents defined themselves as "Punic", thus inaugurating a new chapter in ancient history. Relationships remained on both sides, until that Mediterranean Sea became the "Mare Nostrum" of the Romans.

This people, descendants of the Phoenicians, have managed to create their own space as well as a divergent culture. Carthage became an empire which at the height of its glory, its influence extended from the Libyan coast to cross the Pillars of Hercules and continue all along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean: Portugal to the North, and Morocco to the South. Carthage had conquered Spain and the majority of the Mediterranean islands (Sicily, Sardinia, Corsica ...). Its army, headed by Hannibal Barca, crossed the Alps, and had come to defy Rome in front of its own gates ...(6)





(1) Homère, L'Odyssée, voir la page Sidonienne. Retour texte
(2) Cf., Justin, XVII, 4-6 Retour texte
(3) Un autre comptoir phénicien créé par es marins de Tyr en 1100 av. à une trentaine de km au nord de Carthage. Retour texte
(4) Id, XVIII, 5, 8 sq. Retour texte
(5) Les Carthaginois entretenaient des liens religieux étroits avec Tyr. Ils offraient chaque année le dixième de leur revenu au temple de Melqart. Retour texte
(6) Nous revenons prochainement dans d’autres pages sur les Guerres Puniques et l’histoire militaire des Carthaginois et en particulier celle d’Hannibal Barca. Retour texte

Back to homepage

Votre navigateur ne supporte pas le javascript! Les Phéniciens - Elissa, fondatrice de Carthage
Elissa se donnant la mort en se poignardant.<br>Rubens - Musée du Louvre
Elissa se donnant la mort en se poignardant.
Rubens - Musée du Louvre

Elissa, fondatrice de Carthage


Les historiens de l'Antiquité ont longtemps véhiculé, dans leurs récits sur les Phéniciens, l'idée d'un peuple aventurier bravant les mers à la recherche des richesses. Leurs installations étaient parsemées, en comptoirs commerciaux, sur des points stratégiques autour de la Méditerranée. Grecs et Romains, rivaux des Phéniciens et des Carthaginois plus tard, influencèrent, par leur jalousie, ces sources et références de l'Antiquité. Les Phéniciens furent alors représentés comme des marchands retors et rusés, animés uniquement par l'appât du gain(1).


Parmi les comptoirs phéniciens, une ville s'est fortement illustrée par sa richesse et son indépendance : Carthage. Du phénicien Qart Hadath "la ville neuve", Carthage fut d'abord une étape sur la route du retour des navires chargés des richesses en provenance de l'Espagne. Sa fondation remonte à 814 av.J.C.

Le principal récit de la fondation de la ville reste celui de Justin(2) racontant que le roi de Tyr Matten, à sa mort, légua le pouvoir à son fils Pygmalion et à sa fille Elissa (ou Elissar - Didon). Le peuple de Tyr désirant un seul et unique souverain, suscita des dissensions au sein de la famille royale, d'autant qu'Elissa avait épousé son oncle Acherbas, grand prêtre de Melqart, qui jouissait d'une autorité aussi grande que celle du roi et disposait d'une richesse fabuleuse. Pygmalion, désireux de s'approprier et le pouvoir et les richesses de son oncle, assassina Acherbas. Elissa menacée, décida de s'enfuir en usant de la ruse. Pour ne pas éveiller les soupçons de son frère, elle émit son désir de venir s'installer auprès de lui dans le palais. Pygmalion accepta en pensant qu'Elissa apporterait avec elle ses richesses. Il envoya ses navires l'a ramené.

Elissa attendit la nuit pour cacher ses trésors dans la cale du navire et prépara des sacs remplis de sables qu'elle disposa à bord. Une fois en mer elle jeta les sacs par-dessus bord, invoquant le souvenir de son mari en le suppliant d'accepter cette offrande. Les serviteurs du roi prirent peur et décidèrent d'accompagner la princesse dans son voyage de crainte des représailles du roi. Des sénateurs et des prêtres de Melqart s'étaient joints au groupe d'exilés. Ils se dirigèrent vers Chypre pour se ravitailler. Quatre vingt vierges, consacrées au temple d'Astarté avant leur mariage, furent enlevées et mariées aux Tyriens qui accompagnaient la princesse. Elissa "la vagabonde" brava la mer et partit à la recherche d'une "ville neuve". Son navire accosta sur les côtes africaines.

        Justin poursuit son récit évoquant l'installation du convoi tyrien :
"Elissa sollicite l'amitié des habitants qui voyaient avec joie dans l'arrivée de ces étrangers une occasion de trafic et de mutuels échanges. Ensuite elle accepta autant de terrain qu'en pourrait couvrir une peau de bœuf, (...) puis elle fait couper la peau en lanières très minces et occupe ainsi plus d'espace qu'elle n'en avait demandé. De là vint plus tard à ce lieu le nom de Byrsa.

Puis, attirés par l'espoir du gain, des gens du voisinage, accourant en foule apporter aux étrangers force marchandises, s'établirent chez eux et, de cette foule d'hommes, il se forma une sorte de cité. Des envoyés d'Utique(3), reconnaissant en eux des parents leurs apportèrent aussi des présents et les engagèrent à fonder une ville à l'endroit ou le sort les avait donné asile. Les Africains voulurent aussi retenir ces étrangers. C'est ainsi que, du consentement de tous, Carthage fut fondée après qu'on eut fixé le tribut annuel qu'elle payerait pour le sol de la ville.

On trouva dans les premières fondations une tête de bœuf, augure qui indiquait un sol fertile mais difficile à cultiver et une ville vouée à un perpétuel esclavage. On transporta donc la ville en un autre endroit. Là on trouva une tête de cheval, ce qui signifiait que le peuple serait belliqueux et puissant et l'on mit la ville sur cet emplacement de favorable augure"(4).

La cité de Carthage prospéra sous le règne d’Elissa, ses richesses se développèrent avec l’arrivée des nouveaux habitants et les affaires s’épanouissaient avec les commerçants qui affluaient de tout bord. Hiarbas, roi des Maxitans, le peuple autochtone, voulant mettre la main sur cette nouvelle richesse, réclama Elissa comme épouse sinon il déclarerait la guerre. La reine, refusant de trahir son serment de rester fidèle à la mémoire de son époux, décida de mettre fin à sa vie et se jette dans le feu.

Une autre version de la mort d’Elissa nous a été transmise par Virgile, dans l'Énéide. Il raconte que la reine est tombée amoureuse d’Énée le prince troyen qui, faisant route vers l’Italie, fut repoussé par la volonté des dieux vers la côte près de Carthage. Un mariage aurait eu lieu dans une grotte et Enée resta auprès de la souveraine. Jupiter ne tardera pas à rappeler au Troyen qu’il devait accomplir son devoir et repartir vers l’Italie pour créer une nouvelle cité. Le prince, avec ses compagnons, remit les voiles vers l’Italie et abandonna Elissa. La reine, prise de chagrin, ordonna de mettre le feu à toutes les affaires laissées par Énée, elle se perça le cœur avec une épée et se jeta dans les flammes.

La Mort de Didon<br>Cayot - Musée du Louvre
La Mort de Didon
Cayot - Musée du Louvre

D'abord sujette de Tyr, la cité de Carthage gagna peu à peu son indépendance et fut gouvernée plus tard par ses propres magistrats portant le titre de suffètes. Elle garda des liens étroits(5) avec Tyr, la métropole, jusqu'au moment du siège d'Alexandre en 332 av.J.C. lorsque les Tyriens assiégés essayèrent de fuir leur cité la nuit par des navires en partance pour Carthage où ils avaient de la famille et espéraient trouver un refuge loin de cette guerre imposée par les Macédoniens.

Monnaie Elissa
Monnaie Elissa

Carthage ne tarda pas à prendre son envol et à définir sa propre politique commerciale et diplomatique en assurant la relève de Tyr pour la tutelle de tous les comptoirs phéniciens en Méditerranée occidentale. Cette prédominance carthaginoise offrit à la "colonie" une particularité qui la distingua de la cité mère. Désormais les habitants se définissent "puniques" inaugurant ainsi un nouveau chapitre dans l'histoire méditerranéenne. Les liens subsisteront de part et d'autre jusqu'à ce que leur mer devienne le Mare Nostrum des Romains.

Ce peuple, descendants des Phéniciens, a réussi à créer son propre espace ainsi qu'une culture divergente. Carthage est devenue un empire, son influence, au sommet de sa gloire, s’est étendue de la côte libyenne pour traverser les colonnes d’Hercule et se propager sur les côtes de l’océan Atlantique, le Portugal au Nord et le Maroc au Sud. Carthage a conquis l’Espagne et la plupart des îles de la Méditerranée (la Sicile, la Sardaigne, la Corse, ...). Son armée, dirigée par Hannibal, a traversé les Alpes et venue défier Rome à ses portes...(6)





(1) Homère, L'Odyssée, voir la page Sidonienne. Retour texte
(2) Cf., Justin, XVII, 4-6 Retour texte
(3) Un autre comptoir phénicien créé par es marins de Tyr en 1100 av. à une trentaine de km au nord de Carthage. Retour texte
(4) Id, XVIII, 5, 8 sq. Retour texte
(5) Les Carthaginois entretenaient des liens religieux étroits avec Tyr. Ils offraient chaque année le dixième de leur revenu au temple de Melqart. Retour texte
(6) Nous revenons prochainement dans d’autres pages sur les Guerres Puniques et l’histoire militaire des Carthaginois et en particulier celle d’Hannibal Barca. Retour texte

Retour index 'Les Phéniciens'