Your browser does not support JavaScript! The Phoenicians - Ahiram King of Byblos

Ahiram King of Byblos

The oldest and most famous Phoenician sarcophagus is that of King Ahiram of Goubal (Jbeil-Byblos). It was discovered during excavations by French archaeologists following a landslide caused by heavy rains. Found in the tomb V, this sarcophagus is currently conserved in the National Museum of Beirut. It represents one of the most important pieces, if not the centerpiece of the museum's collection. It dates from the thirteenth century BC, and was used for the burial of an Egyptian and reused by Ithobaal for the interment of his father Ahiram in the tenth century BC.

National Museum
National Museum

This sarcophagus is particularly famous because of the inscription in the Phoenician alphabetic characters, which begins at the upper edge of the short side of the casket, and ends on the lid. Written from right to left, this inscription represents the oldest text that has survived in Linear Phoenician script. Out of the twenty two Phoenician alphabet letters, nineteen caracters were used. The inscription indicates that the sarcophagus was fabricated by Ithobaal, son of Ahiram, king of Goubal, specialy for his father, as his eternal home. If a king, a governor or any army commander appears ahead of Goubal (Byblos) and opens the sarcophagus, his scepter would break, and his kingdom throne would by overturned, and that peace and quiet would escape from Goubal, and as for him: that his memory will disappear forever.


Ahiram's grave Ahiram's grave

According to the archaeologist Hélène Sader(1), it is generally acknowledged that the sarcophagus dates from the thirteenth century BC, and is older than its inscription engraved in Phoenician alphabet (19 letters). Examinations carried out on this monument have revealed the presence of an older pseudo-hieroglyphic inscription. Some objects bearing the cartouche of Ramses II (XIII century), were also found in the burial chamber next to the sarcophagus. The Phoenician inscription attests the reuse of this sarcophagus for the king Ahiram's remains. This engraving is usually dated from the tenth century.

Experts are split on this discrepancy. Some adopt the same date for the sarcophagus and the Phoenician inscription, as that of the thirteenth century, while others adopt that the text, in relation to the form of his writing, dated to the tenth century; the period of Ahiram governance in Byblos, and that the sarcophagus was probably reused. Scientific studies have still not been able to set an exact date on the whole issue. The question is always asked: From which epoch was engraved the oldest writing found in Phoenician letters?


Ahiram's Sarcophagus Details of the sarcophagus

This sarcophagus, in parallelepiped shape, is etched into a limestone rock, and is based on four crouching lions. The figures, on both sides, represent processions: on the first side we see the sovereign (or perhaps a god) on a throne, bordered by winged sphinxes, facing him is a table laid out towards, where devotees 'and bearers' offerings are progressing. While the second side shows devotees in funeral procession. Along the shorter sides, there are engravings representing women beating their breasts and tearing their hair in sign of mourning. Over the cover, there are two personages each holding a lotus flower, lying face to face and separated by two lions, like those on the base of the sarcophagus. We can suppose that these two persons represent the king Ahiram wearing the faded flower of lotus, symbolizing death, and his son Ittobaal, bringing the blossoming lotus, representing life. The heads of lions, which extend from each side of the cover, were used for the opening and closing maneuvers. Traces of red paint still exists on the cover which indicates that the sarcophagus was painted.



During the conflict that ravaged the country of the Cedars since 1975, failing to move the sarcophagus owing to its big dimensions, museum officials, under the direction of Emir Maurice Chehab, decided to leave it there, and protect it by wrapping it in reinforced concrete in order to preserve it against pillage and fighting-related damage. In 1991, restoration works for the reopening of the museum were started. The sarcophagus was excavated, rehabilitated and re-exposed. It was loaned to the Arab World Institute in Paris for the exhibition, "Liban, l’autre rive" (Lebanon, the other bank), which was held in the premises of the IMA, on 27 October 1998 uptil May 2, 1999. Since then, the sarcophagus has taken its place in the National Museum of Beirut, where it represents the centerpiece of the collection.

Uncovering of Ahiram's sarcophagus
Uncovering of Ahiram's sarcophagus




(1) Hélène SADER, article tiré du livre Liban, l'autre rive, IMA, Flammarion, 1998, p.126. Retour texte

Back to homepage

Votre navigateur ne supporte pas le javascript! Les Phéniciens - Ahiram, Roi de Byblos

Ahiram, Roi de Byblos

Le plus ancien et le plus célèbre sarcophage phénicien est celui d'Ahiram, roi de Goubal (Byblos). Il a été découvert lors des fouilles entamées par des archéologues français suite à un glissement de terrain. Trouvé dans la tombe V, ce sarcophage est actuellement conservé dans le Musée National de Beyrouth. Il représente une des pièces les plus importantes, sinon la pièce maîtresse de la collection du musée. Il date du XIII° siècle av., a servi pour l’enterrement d’un égyptien et réutilisé par Ithobaal pour l'inhumation de son père Ahiram.

Musée National
Musée National

Ce sarcophage est surtout célèbre grâce à l'inscription en caractères alphabétiques phéniciens qui commence sur le bord supérieur du petit côté de la cuve et se termine sur le couvercle. Écrite de droite à gauche, cette inscription représente le plus ancien texte qui nous soit parvenu en écriture phénicienne linéaire. Des vingt-deux lettres de l'alphabet phénicien, dix neuf y apparaissent. Elle indique que ce sarcophage était réalisé par Ittobaal, fils d’Ahiram, roi de Goubal, pour son père, comme demeure pour l’éternité. Si un roi, un gouverneur ou un chef d’armée se présente devant Goubal (Byblos) et ouvre le sarcophage, que son sceptre se brise, que le trône de son royaume tombe, que la paix s'échappe de Goubal et que sa mémoire s’effacera pour l’éternité.


Tombe d'Ahiram Tombe d'Ahiram

D'après l'archéologue Hélène Sader(1), il est généralement admis que le sarcophage date bien du XIII°siècle av. J.C. et qu'il est plus ancien que l'inscription qu'il porte (l'alphabet en 19 lettres). Les examens effectués sur ce monument ont révélés des traces d'une inscription pseudo-hiéroglyphique plus ancienne que l'inscription phénicienne. D'autres part, des objets portant le cartouche de Ramsès II (XIII°siècle), avaient été trouvés dans la chambre funéraire à côté du sarcophage. L'inscription phénicienne atteste quant à elle la réutilisation du sarcophage par Ahiram ; sa graphie est plus souvent datée du X°siècle.

Les spécialistes restent partagés face à cette divergence. Certains adoptent la même date pour l'objet et l'inscription, soit celle du sarcophage (le XIII°siècle), tandis que d'autres optent que le texte, vue la forme de son écriture, date du dixième siècle, la période du gouvernance d'Ahiam à Byblos, et que le sarcophage a été probablement réutilisé. Les études scientifiques n’ont toujours pas réussi à bien dater l’ensemble, la question reste toujours posée : A quelle date était gravée la plus vielle écriture en lettres phéniciennes ?


Sarcophage d'Ahiram Détails du sarcophage

De forme parallélépipédique, ce sarcophage, gravé dans la roche calcaire, repose sur quatre lions accroupis, les figures, sur les deux côtés, représentent des processions. D'une part, on voit le souverain (ou un dieu) sur un trône, encadré de sphinx ailés, face à lui une table dressée vers laquelle s'avancent les dévots et porteurs d'offrandes. Sur le deuxième côté on voit également des dévots en cortège funéraire. Sur les petits côtés, on retrouve des gravures représentant des femmes se frappant et s'arrachant les cheveux en signe de deuil. Sur le couvercle, on distingue deux personnages tenant chacune une fleur de lotus, face à face et séparés par deux lions à l’image de ceux de la base du sarcophage. On peut supposer que ces deux personnages représentent le roi Ahiram portant la fleur du lotus fanée, symbolisant la mort, et son fils Ittobaal, portant le lotus épanouissant, représentant la vie. Les têtes des lions qui dépassent de chaque côté du couvercle servaient ainsi pour le manœuvrer. Des traces de peinture rouge se trouve encore sur ce couvercle qui signifient que le sarcophage était peint.



Durant le conflit qui a ravagé le pays des cèdres à partir de 1975, n'ayant pu déplacer ce sarcophage à cause de ses dimensions, les responsables du musée, sous la direction de l’émir Maurice Chéhab, avaient décidé de le laisser sur place tout en l'enveloppant dans du béton armé afin de le préserver et le protéger contre le pillage et les dégâts liés aux combats. En 1991, les travaux de restauration pour la réouverture du musée ont été entamés. Le sarcophage fut décoffré, remis en état et exposé. Il était prêté à l’Institut du Monde Arabe à Paris pour une exposition, « Liban, l’autre rive », qui a eu lieu dans les locaux de l’IMA, du 27 octobre 1998 au 2 mai 1989. Depuis, ce sarcophage a repris sa place au milieu de la collection du Musée National de Beyrouth.

Décoffrage sarcophage d'Ahiram
Décoffrage sarcophage d'Ahiram




(1) Hélène SADER, article tiré du livre Liban, l'autre rive, IMA, Flammarion, 1998, p.126. Retour texte

Retour index 'Les Phéniciens'