Your browser does not support JavaScript! The Phoenicians - The legend of the abduction of Europa
The abduction of Europe illustrated by Joelle Achkar
The abduction of Europe illustrated by Joelle Achkar
© Pheniciens.com

The legend of the abduction of Europa


Over the last few years, we are witnessing on the world stage, the emergence of a new international organization: the European Union E.U., more commonly called Europe.


With the introduction of the European currency (Euro / €), Greece has chosen to mark the historicity of this event by the manufacture of a € 2 coin with the effigy of the Princess Europa, abducted by Zeus. Some questions arise: Who was this princess whom by her beauty, had dazzled the supreme god of Greek mythology? Where did she come from? What is her story and relationship with the European continent? ...

The legend spoke that Europa, a Phoenician princess, daughter of Agenor(1) king of Tyre, was walking one day along the seashore with her companions, and was noticed by Zeus. Kindled by her beauty, the God transformed himself into a white bull with a crescent moon-shaped horn and sat down at the feet of the young girl. Frightened at first, the princess grew bolder, caressed the animal and sat on his back. Immediately the bull got up and rushed towards the sea. Despite the cries of Europa, who clung to the horns, the bull stepped into the waves and moved away from the shore. They reached as far as Crete, where Zeus resumed his human appearance and mated with Europa. Out of this love, three sons born: Minos, Rhadamanthus and Sarpedon.

Europa, Greek Coin 2€

Following this legend was the search conducted by the brothers of the princess. The king Agenor commanded his son Cadmus to go in search for his sister, with a formal prohibition to return to Tyre, as long as he did not find her. The mother of Cadmus, Telephassa, and two of his brothers, Thassos and Cilix, accompanied him in his quest, and only Phoenix remained in the country with his father the king.

The searche of the queen and her sons was unsuccessful. Telephassa died of grief, and because of the oath to their father, the three sons dared not return home. Thassos gave up the search and went to settle in Thrace Islands, with whom he identifies himself. Cilix established himself in Cilicia, of which he was the legendary founder. As for Cadmus, he disembarked in Greece, where he interrogated the Delphic oracle, who advised him to be guided by a heifer wandering, whom he would cross on leaving the temple, and then go found a city on the very spot where it would sleep out of exhaustion. Cadmus followed the animal until the site of Thebes, and he built the citadel of Cadmea. Still hoping to find his sister, Cadmus offered to the Greeks the alphabet invented by the Phoenicians for some information about Europa. Herodotus tells the narrative as follows:

"Now these Phoenicians settled in this country of Boeotia, who came with Cadmus, of whom were the Gephyreans, brought in among the Hellenes several knowledge, and especially that of letters, which did not exist, which appears to me, among the Hellenes before this time; They first brought in those which are used generally by the Phoenician race, but afterwards, as time went on, they changed with their speech the form of the letters also. During this time the Ionians were the race of Hellenes who dwelt near them in most of the places where they were; and these, having received letters by instruction of the Phoenicians, changed their form slightly and so made use of them, and in doing so they declared them to be called "Phoenician", as was just, seeing that the Phoenicians had introduced them into Hellas." (Hérodote, II, 58).


The abduction of Europe illustrated by Joelle Achkar
The abduction of Europe illustrated by Joelle Achkar
© Pheniciens.com

This legend of Princess Europa summarizes historical, economic and cultural realities that should correspond to the movements of civilizations homes from the Middle East to the regions of the West, which were then named "Europe".

The "Goddess and the Bull" would be illustrated on numerous occasions in sculpture, painting(2), ceramics and mosaics uptil the fourth century(3), all over the Mediterranean region (Lebanon, Greece, Italy, France, Spain, Tunisia, Algeria, ...). All of these ancient vestiges are currently preserved in the greatest museums in the world (the Louvre Museum, the Hermitage Museum, National Museum of Beirut, British Museum, the Vatican Museum, Museum of Arles and Provence Antique, Archaeological Museum Nimes, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin Museum of Palermo, Pompeii, Agora Museum in Athens, etc.).


In 1998, "La Poste" (the French Post) edited a stamp with a representation of this legend, and that during the exhibition "Liban, l’autre rive" (Lebanon, the other bank), which took place in The Arab World Institute in Paris (from October 27, 1998 to May 2, 1999). Since 2013, the European Central Bank printed a new series of banknotes of € 5 with a hologram including a portrait of the goddess, giving rise to the "Europa series" that will concern all European banknotes. The new € 10 bill started circulating on September 23, 2014. (Photo opposite).

We issue a wish to be able one day to propose via this page the history of those various representations. We invite all museums holding a piece of artwork representing the abduction of Europa to support us in this effort by participating in this project. All articles, photos, descriptions ... are welcome.

We open a lest parenthesis in this page citing the classic author Achilles Tatius (Book I, 1-1 & 1-2), observing the details of the Roman mosaic (third century), representing this kidnapping, discovered on the archaeological site of Jbeil (Byblos) and currently exhibited in the National Museum Beirut:

"Far out in the ocean was painted a bull breasting the waves, (...) The maiden sat on the middle of his back, not astride but sideways, with her feet held together on the right: with her left hand she clung to his horn, like a charioteer holding the reins, and the bull inclined a little in that direction, guided by the pressure of her hand. On the upper part of her body she wore a tunic down to her middle, and then a robe covered the lower part of her body (...). Her hands were held widely apart, the one to the bull's horn, the other to his tail and with both she held above her head the ends of her veil which floated down about her shoulders, bellying out through its whole length and so giving the impression of a painted breeze. Thus she was seated on the bull like a vessel under way, using the veil as a sail.".

Url dynamique
Europa & Zeus, the legende




(1) The cities of Tyre and Sidon were able to form a political unit according to the powers that be. For this reason we read in the references, Europe daughter of the king of Tyre, or daughter of the king of Sidon. Retour texte
(2) Voir Christian de Bartillat & Alain Roba, Métamorphoses d'Europe, trente siècles d'iconographies, Editions Bartillat, 2000. Retour texte
(3) Odile Wattel-de Croizant, Les mosaïques représentant le mythe d'Europe (Ier-IVe siècles), Evolution et interprétation des modèles grecs en milieu romain, Editions De Boccard, Paris, 1995. Retour texte

Back to homepage

Votre navigateur ne supporte pas le javascript! Les Phéniciens - La légende de l'enlèvement d'Europe
L'enlèvement d'Europe illustré par Joëlle Achkar
L'enlèvement d'Europe illustré par Joëlle Achkar
© Pheniciens.com

La légende de l'enlèvement d'Europe


Depuis quelques années, nous assistons sur la scène de l'échiquier mondial, à l'émergence d'une nouvelle identité, la Communauté Européenne, plus fréquemment appelée Europe.


Avec le lancement de la monnaie européenne, la Grèce a choisi de marquer l'historicité de l'événement en frappant une pièce de 2 € à l'effigie de la princesse Europe enlevée par Zeus métamorphosé en taureau. Quelques questions s'imposent : qui était cette Princesse qui avait ébloui par sa beauté le dieu suprême de l'Olympe ? D'où venait-elle ? Quelle est son histoire et son rapport avec ce continent Européen ? ...

La légende raconte qu'Europe, princesse phénicienne, fille d'Agénor(1) roi de Tyr, se promenant un jour au bord de la mer avec ses compagnes, fut remarquée par Zeus. Enflammé par sa beauté, il se métamorphosa en taureau aux cornes semblables à un croissant de lune et vint se coucher aux pieds de la jeune fille. Celle-ci d'abord effrayée, s'enhardit, caressa l'animal et s'assit sur son dos. Aussitôt le taureau se releva et s'élança vers la mer. Malgré les cris d'Europe, qui se cramponne à ses cornes, le taureau pénétra dans les flots et s'éloigne du rivage. Tous deux parvinrent ainsi jusqu'en Crète où Zeus s'unit à la jeune fille. De ces amours naîtront trois fils : Minos, Sarpédon et Rhadamante.

Europe, Pièce grecque de 2€

La suite de cette légende fut la recherche entreprise par les frères d'Europe. Agénor ordonna alors à son fils Cadmos de partir à la recherche de sa sœur, avec interdiction formelle de revenir tant qu'il ne l'a pas retrouvée. La mère de Cadmos, Téléphassa, et ses deux frères, Thassos et Cilix, l'accompagnèrent dans sa quête ; seul Phœnix resta au pays auprès de son père.

Les recherches de Téléphassa et de ses fils furent vaines. Téléphassa mourut de chagrin et ses trois fils, en raison du serment prêté à leur père, n'osèrent pas retourner à Tyr : Thassos s'installa alors dans les îles de Thrace, auxquelles il s'identifia ; Cilix se fixa en Cilicie, dont il fut le fondateur légendaire. Quant à Cadmos, il débarqua en Grèce où il interrogea l'oracle de Delphes. L'oracle lui conseilla de se laisser guider par une génisse errante, qu'il croiserait à sa sortie du temple, et de fonder une ville à l'endroit même où elle se coucherait épuisée. L'animal conduisit Cadmos au site de Thèbes, où il éleva la citadelle de Cadmée. Toujours dans l'espoir de retrouver sa soeur, Cadmos offrit aux Grecs l'alphabet inventé par les Phéniciens. Hérodote raconte le récit en ces termes :

"Pendant le séjour que firent en ce pays les Phéniciens qui avaient accompagné Cadmos, et au nombre desquels étaient les Géphyriens, ils introduirent en Grèce plusieurs connaissances et entre autres des lettres, qui étaient, à mon avis, inconnues auparavant dans ce pays. Ils les employèrent d'abord de la même manière que tous les Phéniciens. Mais dans la suite des temps, ces lettres changèrent avec la langue et prirent une autre forme. Les pays circonvoisins étant alors occupés par les Ioniens, ceux-ci adoptèrent ces lettres, dont les Phéniciens les avaient instruits, mais ils firent quelques légers changements. Ils convenaient de bonne foi et comme le voulait la justice, qu'on leur avait donné le nom de lettres phéniciennes, parce que les Phéniciens les avaient introduites en Grèce". (Hérodote, II, 58).


L'enlèvement d'Europe illustré par Joëlle Achkar
L'enlèvement d'Europe illustré par Joëlle Achkar
© Pheniciens.com

Cette légende d'Europe résume les réalités historiques, économiques et culturelles qui devaient correspondre aux déplacements des foyers de civilisations du Proche-Orient vers les régions d'Occident, appelées par la suite "Europe".

La "déesse au taureau" va être reprise et représentée, en sculpture, peinture(2), céramique et mosaïques jusqu'au IV°siècle(3) et cela sur tout le pourtour méditerranéen (Liban, Grèce, Italie, France, Espagne, Tunisie, Algérie, ...). Ces vestiges antiques sont actuellement préservées dans les divers musées (Musée national de Beyrouth, Musée de l'Arles et la Provence antiques, Musée archéologique de Nîmes, British Museum, Musée du Vatican, Musée du Louvre, Staatliche museen de Berlin, Musée de l'Ermitage, Musée de Palerme, à Pompéi, Musée de l'Agora à Athènes, etc.).


En 1998, La Poste française édita un timbre représentant cette légende et cela à l'occasion de l'exposition Liban, l'autre rive qui s'est tenue à L'Institut du Monde Arabe à Paris (du 27 octobre 1998 au 2 mai 1999). Depuis 2013, la Banque Centrale Européenne a édité une nouvelle série de billets de 5€ intégrant une incrustation du portrait de la déesse, donnant naissance à la "Série Europe" qui concernera tous les billets européens. Le nouveau billet de 10€ a été mis en circulation le 23 septembre 2014. (Photo ci-contre).

Nous émettons un souhait de pouvoir un jour proposer via cette page l'historique de ces diverses représentations. Nous invitons tous les musées détenteurs d'une oeuvre représentant l'enlèvement d'Europe de nous soutenir dans cette démarche en participant à la réalisation de ce projet. Tous les articles, photos, descriptions, ... seront les bienvenus.

Nous ouvrons une dernière parenthèse dans cette page en citant l'auteur classique Achille Tatius (Livre I, 1-1 & 1-2), observant les détails de la mosaïque romaine (IIIe siècle), représentant cet évènement, trouvée sur le site archéologique de Jbeil (Byblos) et présentée actuellement au Musée National de Beyrouth :

"Le taureau avait été représenté au milieu de la mer, chevauchant les vagues (...). La jeune fille était assise au milieu de son dos, non pas à califourchon mais de côté, les deux pieds sur la droite et elle tenait les cornes de sa main gauche comme un conducteur de char tient les rênes, et, en fait, l'animal obliquait légèrement dans cette direction, obéissant à la pression de la main. Le buste de la jeune fille était recouvert d'une tunique qui lui descendait jusqu'en bas des jambes ; plus bas, une robe dissimulait la partie intérieure de son corps (...). Ses mains étaient éloignées l'une de l'autre, l'une sur les cornes du taureau, l'autre sur sa croupe, et dans l'une et l'autre, elle tenait au-dessus de sa tête une large écharpe qui voltigeait autour de ses épaules, et l'étoffe se creusait et se gonflait de toutes parts ; c'était la façon pour le peintre de représenter le vent. Ainsi la jeune fille était-elle installée sur le taureau comme un bateau en mer et son écharpe lui servait de voile".

Url dynamique
La légende d'Europe et Zeus




(1) Les cités de Tyr et de Sidon pouvaient former une unité politique suivant les forces en place. Pour cette raison nous pouvons lire suivant les références, Europe fille du roi de Tyr, ou, fille du roi de Sidon. Retour texte
(2) Voir Christian de Bartillat & Alain Roba, Métamorphoses d'Europe, trente siècles d'iconographies, Editions Bartillat, 2000. Retour texte
(3) Odile Wattel-de Croizant, Les mosaïques représentant le mythe d'Europe (Ier-IVe siècles), Evolution et interprétation des modèles grecs en milieu romain, Editions De Boccard, Paris, 1995. Retour texte

Retour index 'Les Phéniciens'