Your browser does not support JavaScript! The Phoenicians - General description

General description

Phoenician, by J. Achkar, ©Les Phéniciens

It is well known that it is the victors who write history. What did they write about the Phoenicians?

Historians documented that the Phoenicians were known as good "mariners and merchants". Between admiration and jealousy, praise and criticism, the Phoenicians were recognized as pacifists.

Motivated by adventure and exploration, profit and commerce, creating new relationships and expanding their knowledge, Phoenicians have traveled the antique world to nurture their curiosity, market and exchange their products, search for others, especially the raw material for their handicrafts.


Archeology has shown that the Phoenicians founded trading posts on the Mediterranean, thus ensuring the supply boats. Each season, they tried to push the adventure even further up beyond the Pillars of Hercules (today's Strait of Gibraltar). Besides the city of Carthage, the other trading posts were never considered by the city mothers (Byblos, Sidon, Tyre) as colonies. These posts were simply used for resupply and trading.

Phoenicians around the Mediterranean

Yet the history of ancient Phoenicians remains somewhat enigmatic. Up to date people are uncertain of what is a true history? And what is a myth?. A question arises: Who were the Phoenicians? Where were they? Why we named them so? Do we find Phoenicians today? What happened to this people? Lots of questions run in our heads. Within this site we try to understand the complexity of their lives, and discover a little more between their identities away from the 'clichés' since antiquity.

First we should avoid the confusion of our notion of contemporary and modern state with defined borders, and the ancient notion that is completely different. Phoenicia, the Phoenicians country, does not represent an established territory, since the boundaries followed the ebb and flow with relation to the powers of the region. Up till the early Iron Age, with the invasion of the 'Peoples of the Sea' in 1200 BC, the term 'Phoenician' did not appear.

Byblos - Global view of the archaeological site

This country, which is Lebanon today with a few miles further north and south was inhabited since the Paleolithic (Old-Stone Age), and its evolution was clearly observed and recorded during the Neolithic (New-Stone Age). Around 7500 BC, the agro-pastoral economy moved on to several sites. Archaeologist Maurice Dunand found during excavations undertaken between 1924 and 1959, the remains of flint(hard grey rock) in the shape of arrows, daggers, blades denticulate to harvests, axes and scrapers, which confirmed the foundation of Byblos, about 7000 BC by Neolithic populations.

Once the IV millennium, small fishing villages grew particularly in Byblos and Dakerman near Sidon. They were formed by single-roomed houses, often grouped around a watering point and surrounded by ramparts. The men developed agriculture and fisheries, small temples were dedicated to the deities connected with the forces of nature, they began to bury their dead in large jars grain (assimilation of remains to the grain that is buried and reborn). A decisive change will soon become, bringing the village societies to evolve into more complex forms of urban organization.

At the III millennium, the model 'city-state' was stabilized and became general bringing about the development of trade. Relations were established especially between Egypt and the city of Gebal or Gubal (Byblos). Royal luxury gifts, goods, vases, boxes, flocked to the city, the oldest dating from 2700 BC. The area was then included in the Asian empire of Egypt. The cedar wood was an essential material essential to the Pharaohs to use for marine construction, and most important was the resin of the wood used for the mummification of the dead.

This situation changed at the end of the third millennium. With Egypt entering a downturn, its contacts with the Levant was interrupted. Byblos was destructed around 2200 BC but the city was quickly rebuilt around the Temple of Balaat (the Lady of Byblos) and resumed its activities. Relations with the northern coastal and inland Syria secured Byblos the supply of metal. The city became one of the most active in bronze metallurgy. The figures production started during this period, which will become the symbol of Byblos. Relations with Egypt were resumed with the 'Dynasty XII' (time of the pharaohs Amenemhet III and IV).

Temple of Baalat-Gebal

During the Middle Bronze Age (2000/1500 BC), the exchanges were not limited solely to the city of Byblos, several business units swarming all over: in Arqa (north), Beirut, in the Beqa 'and Kamed el-Loz. Links were particularly woven with Minoan Crete, Cyprus and other 'city-states' such Ugarit. Internationally, the political context evolved, Egypt emerged from retreat and began a new expansionist policy and several achievements were conducted. At the end of the reign of Pharaoh Tuthmosis III (c. 1440 BC), the cities of the Levant were again re-integrated into the Egyptian sphere. The government was assured by local kings who had paid tribute to the representatives of the pharaoh.

In the fourteenth century, Hittite power came in the regional arena, threatening the existing balance. Some local kings did not hesitate to establish alliances with the new conqueror. The confrontation between the Egyptian empire and the Hittite empire was realized by the famous Battle of Kadesh (1275/1274 BC) leading to a treaty between Ramses II and Hattusil III. The point of separation of territories was placed on both sides of the banks of the river Nahr el-Kabir (the current border between northern Lebanon and Syria). Levantine cities found themselves under Egyptian rule, except Ugarit who was under Hittite guardianship.

The situation of these cities was volatile and Egypt's control was insufficient. Letters addressed by local kings to the Pharaoh, testified instability and rivalry rather acute. This will later on lead to the invasion of the Peoples of the Sea (c. 1200 BC) and the destruction of major cities. Ugarit was destroyed forever. The other cities also affected by the destructive wave, managed to recover and gain some independence.

Egypt began a new downturn, the Hittite empire disappeared and the new conqueror of the East, the king of Assyria, makes only short-lived foray (Expedition Tiglath-Pileser I Arwad in 1100 BC). Until the mid-ninth century BC, Levantine cities took advantage of this freedom to expand their trade. The inhabitants defended their own entity, belonging to their own city, they declared themselves Giblites (Gebal / Byblos) Tyrians and Sidonians but never Phoenicians. This name was given by the Greeks derived from the Greek word 'Phoenix'.

Ahiram's sarcophagus and alphabet

This period is rich in deeds, documents and relics, there are tangible traces such as the famous sarcophagus of King Ahiram Byblos bearing on its cover letters of the alphabet, the unique relationship between Hiram, king of Tyre and Solomon to build the Temple of Jerusalem, the union of Tyre and Sidon under Ittobaal royal government, bringing them up to Tartessos country (Spain) searching for silver essential material to their craft, not to forget the foundation of Carthage, first stop to Spain and Cornwall (Great Britain), who will take over later.


The Assyrian power in the East could not remain forever immune to the strategic position and therefore the wealth of commercial cities. From 880 BC, Sidon and Tyre paid a tribute to King Ashurnasirpal to protect their trading posts in northern Syria. The Assyrian threat was soon to occur, the tributes to departing Mesopotamia became increasingly heavy: cedar, precious metals, ivory, purple fabrics, etc. However, the Phoenician cities preserved their sovereignty and autonomy in managing their business. They were led by local kings while all surrounding areas were under direct control of senior government Assyrian officials. This relative independence could not mask the interference of representatives of the Assyrian king in business, which sparked several revolts in Sidon (677av. JC) and Tyre (671 & 663 BC).

Tyre - Triumphal arch

Unlike the Assyrians, the Babylonians, new conquerors imposed full control over the Phoenician cities. From 605 BC, Nebuchadnezzar, king of Babylon, the victorious Egyptians at Carchemish, the Phoenicians deported to Babylon, ensuring total control over the wealth of the country especially the cedar forests. Only the city of Tyre resisted the siege of the invaders for 13 years.

The arrival of the Persians, after the capture of Babylon by Cyrus (539 BC), was positively felt in every city. Sailors emerged, and the Phoenicians participated, with the fleet, in the campaign against Egypt, their former ally. From an administrative standpoint, the Phoenician cities are built into the satrapy of 'Transeuphratènes' while maintaining some autonomy. From this time onward the use of Currency spread. The buildings were developed: in Sidon, the temple of Echmoun at Bostan el-Sheikh demonstrates the commitment of the royal family Sidonian the 'king of kings' (the Persian king), as mentioned in the sarcophagus of Echmounazar. In Beirut, the discovery of a neighborhood plan regular style Hippodamian evidenced by the expansion and vitality of the city at that time.

In the fourth century this cooperation was undermined. Revolts were supported by the Athenians, or even the Egyptians who tried to regain their former influence. But the Persian repression was fierce. This evolving relationship will facilitate the reception of the Macedonian, Alexander the Great, in 332 BC the cities submitted without resistance except Tyre besieged for seven months. With Alexander, the cities lost their autonomy, they will become part of a province of the Hellenistic world until the arrival of the Romans.

Baalbek - Temple of Jupiter, columns

The pages of this site, dedicated to Phoenicians, are multiple and diverse. You will find the history of each of the cities known as Byblos, Sidon and Tyre. Ugarit is not a Phoenician city, certainly, but through its development, richness and its trade, has been heralding the rich cities of the Levant. As for Baalbek, known more for its relics of Roman times, it was already inside the city of excellence by taking the route between the cities of the coast and the hinterland. Other pages are dedicated to specific topics as the alphabet, art, money, expansion, the personalities such Ahiram, Hannon ... or mythical heroes: Europe, Adonis ...



Our Slogan
Preserving memory

Secure the future
Our Slogan

With our motto, we work to preserve the memory of Phoenicians who, unfortunately, are increasingly excluded from historical books. Few people remember their contribution to create the alphabet or their maritime exploits. The most difficult thing is to define their geographical area, and their cultural involvement. It is very important to reveal how the envious have managed to 'tarnish' the name of the Phoenicians.

This site is for informational purposes about Phoenicians. It is not meant to in any way to be 'ideological'. We explicitly reject any confusion that may lead to some interpretation. Our items are annotated and referenced respecting the work of historians and archaeologists who are doing their utmost to shed light on the people long 'forgotten'. Our pages are constantly changing and the style is simple, accessible to all. A guestbook is available for any comments or suggests.



Back to homepage

Votre navigateur ne supporte pas le javascript! Les Phéniciens - Présentation

Présentation

Tête de Phénicien, par J. Achkar, ©Les Phéniciens

Il est bien connu que ce sont les vainqueurs qui écrivent l'histoire. Qu'ont-ils alors écrit au sujet des Phéniciens ?

Une certitude rassemble tous les historiens : les Phéniciens sont un peuple "de navigateurs et de commerçants". Entre admiration et jalousie, éloge et critique, ce peuple fut reconnu comme pacifiste.

Motivés par l'aventure et l'exploration, le bénéfice et le commerce, la création de nouvelles relations et l'élargissement de leurs connaissances, les Phéniciens ont sillonné le monde antique pour nourrir leur curiosité, commercialiser et échanger leurs produits, en rechercher d'autres, particulièrement la matière première pour leur artisanat.


L'archéologie a démontré que les Phéniciens fondèrent des comptoirs sur le pourtour méditerranéen, assurant ainsi le ravitaillement des bateaux. Chaque saison, ils essayèrent de pousser l'aventure encore plus loin jusqu'à dépasser les colonnes d'Hercule (l'actuelle détroit de Gibraltar). A l'exception des Carthaginois, les Phéniciens n'ont jamais cherché à 'coloniser' des nouvelles contrées. Leurs établissements servirent d'intermédiaires avec les cités mères (Byblos, Tyr et Sidon) et les échanges représentèrent le pilier de leurs activités.

Le pourtour méditerranéen et l'expansion Phénicienne

Pourtant, l'histoire de ce peuple de l'Antiquité reste un peu énigmatique. Jusqu'à nos jours les gens sont partagés entre son histoire réelle et les mythes qui s'y rapportent. Une question s'impose : Qui sont ces Phéniciens ? D'où venaient-ils ? Pourquoi les nommèrent on ainsi ? Trouvons nous toujours des Phéniciens de nos jours, qu'est-il advenu de ce peuple ? Plein de questions se bousculent dans nos têtes. A travers ce site nous essayons de comprendre la complexité de leur existence, découvrir un peu plus leur vraie histoire, loin des clichés véhiculés depuis l'Antiquité.

Premier piège à éviter c'est de confondre notre notion moderne et contemporaine d'Etat, avec des frontières bien définies, et la notion antique différente. La Phénicie, pays des Phéniciens, ne représentait en aucun cas un territoire établi, les limites suivaient des flux et reflux en rapport avec les puissances de la région. Ce n'est qu'à partir du début de l'âge de fer, avec l'invasion des Peuples de la Mer en 1200 av.J.C., que le terme 'Phéniciens' apparu.

Byblos - Vue global du site archéologique

Ce pays, qui représente le Liban actuel avec quelques kilomètres en plus au nord et au sud, était habité dès le paléolithique, l'évolution fut nettement observée et constatée au cours du néolithique. Vers 7500 av.J.C., l'économie agro-pastorale s'installa sur plusieurs sites. L'archéologue Maurice Dunand trouva, lors des fouilles entreprises entre 1924 et 1959, des vestiges en silex comme des flèches, des poignards, des lames denticulées pour les moissons, des haches et des grattoirs, qui confirmèrent la fondation de Byblos, vers 7000 av.J.C., par des populations néolithiques.

Dès le IV°millénaire, des petits villages de pêcheurs se développèrent particulièrement à Byblos et à Dakerman près Sidon. Ils étaient formés par des maisons à pièce uniques, regroupés souvent autour d'un point d'eau et entourés de rempart. Les hommes y développèrent l'agriculture et la pêche, des petits temples furent dédiés aux divinités en rapport avec les forces de la nature, ils commencèrent à enterrer leurs morts dans les grandes jarres à grain (assimilation de la dépouille mortelle au grain que l'on enfouit et qui renaît). Une mutation décisive ne tardera pas à s'imposer, amenant ces sociétés villageoises à évoluer vers des formes plus complexes d'organisation urbaine.

Au III°, le modèle de cité-Etat se stabilisa et se généralisa apportant ainsi un développement des échanges. Des relations s'établirent spécialement entre l'Egypte et la cité de Gebal ou Goubal (Byblos). Des cadeaux à caractère royal : produits de luxe, des vases, des coffres, affluent dans la cité, le plus ancien date de 2700 av.J.C. La région fut alors englobée dans l'Empire asiatique de l'Egypte. Le bois de cèdre était un matériel indispensable aux pharaons pour la construction marine, et plus essentielle était la résine de ce bois, utilisée pour la momification des morts.

Cette situation changea à la fin de ce III° millénaire. L'Egypte entrant dans une phase de repli, ses contacts avec le Levant furent interrompus. Byblos subit une destruction vers 2200 av.J.C. mais rapidement la ville se reconstruit autour du Temple de la Baalat (la Dame de Byblos) et reprit son activité. Des relations avec le nord du littoral et la Syrie intérieure assurèrent à Byblos son ravitaillement en métal. La ville devînt un des foyers les plus actifs de la métallurgie du bronze. La production de figurines est datée de cette période, elles seront le symbole de Byblos. Les relations avec l'Egypte reprirent avec la XII°dynastie (époque des pharaons Amenemhat III et IV).

Temple de la Baalet de Byblos

Durant l'âge du bronze moyen (2000/1500 av.J.C.), les échanges ne furent pas limités à la seule cité de Byblos, plusieurs centres d'activités essaimaient sur tout le territoire : à Arqa (au nord), à Beyrouth, dans la Béqa' et à Kamid el-Loz. Des liens se tissèrent particulièrement avec la Crète minoenne, Chypre et les autres cités-Etats telle Ougarit. Sur le plan international, le contexte politique évolua, l'Egypte sortit de son repli et entreprît une nouvelle politique expansionniste, plusieurs conquêtes furent menées. A la fin du règne du pharaon Thoutmosis III (vers 1440 av.J.C.), les cités du Levant furent de nouveau intégrées dans la sphère égyptienne. Le gouvernement fut assuré par des rois locaux qui durent verser un tribut aux représentants du pharaon.

Au XIV° siècle, la puissance hittite entra sur l'échiquier régional, menaçant l'équilibre en place. Certains rois locaux n'hésitèrent pas à établir dès lors des alliances avec ce nouveau conquérant. La confrontation entre l'empire égyptien et l'empire hittite se concrétisa par la fameuse bataille de Qadesh (1275/1274 av.J.C.) aboutissant à un traité entre Ramsès II et Hattousili III. Le point de séparation des territoires fut placé des deux côtés des rives du fleuve Nahr el-kabir (frontière actuelle entre le Nord Liban et la Syrie). Les cités du Levant se retrouvèrent ainsi sous domination égyptienne alors qu'Ougarit subissait la tutelle hittite.

La situation de ces cités fut toutefois fluctuante et le contrôle égyptien insuffisant. Des lettres, adressées par les rois locaux au pharaon, attestèrent une certaine instabilité et des rivalités assez aigues. Cette situation favorisera l'invasion des Peuples de la Mer (vers 1200 av.J.C.) et la destruction des principales cités. Ougarit fut anéantie à jamais. Les autres cités, également touchées par cette vague destructrice, réussirent à se redresser et à acquérir une certaine indépendance.

L'Egypte entama un nouveau repli, l'empire hittite disparut et le nouveau conquérant de l'Est, le roi d'Assyrie, ne fait qu'une incursion sans lendemain (Expédition de Tiglath-Phalasar Ier à Arwad en 1100 av.J.C.). Jusqu'au milieu du IX° siècle av.J.C., les cités levantines profitèrent de cette liberté pour accroître leurs échanges. Les habitants défendirent leur entité propre, leur appartenance à leur propre cité : ils se déclaraient Giblites (Gebal/Byblos/Jbeil) Tyriens (ville de Tyr) ou Sidoniens (ville de Sidon) mais jamais Phéniciens. Ce terme leur fut donné par les Grecs, dérivant du mot grec phoinix.

Sarcophage d'Ahiram et l'alphabet

De cette période riche en exploits, documents et vestiges, il nous reste des traces tangibles tel le fameux sarcophage d'Ahiram, roi de Byblos, qui porte sur son couvercle les lettres de l'alphabet; la relation exceptionnelle entre Hiram, le roi de Tyr et Salomon pour la construction du Temple de Jérusalem; l'union de Tyr et Sidon, réalisée sous le gouvernement du roi Ittobaal, dura plus de deux siècles et les amenant jusqu'en pays de Tartessos (Espagne) à la recherche de l'argent, indispensable à leur artisanat; sans oublier la fondation de Carthage, d'abord petite escale vers l'Espagne et les Cornouailles (Grande Bretagne), qui assumera plus tard la relève.


La puissance assyrienne à l'Est ne pouvait rester indéfiniment insensible à la position stratégique et par conséquent la richesse de ces cités commerçantes. Dès 880 av.J.C., Sidon et Tyr versaient un tribut au roi Assurnasirpal afin de protéger leurs comptoirs marchands en Syrie du Nord. La menace assyrienne ne tarda pas à se manifester, les tributs en partance vers la Mésopotamie devinrent de plus en plus lourds : bois de cèdre, métaux précieux, objets en ivoires, des tissus de pourpre, etc. Toutefois, les cités phéniciennes préservèrent leur souveraineté et une certaine autonomie dans la gestion de leurs activités commerciales. Elles furent dirigées par les rois locaux alors que toutes les régions aux alentours subissaient un contrôle direct sous le gouvernement des hauts fonctionnaires assyriens. Cette indépendance relative ne pouvait masquer l'ingérence des représentants du roi assyrien dans les affaires, ce qui déclencha plusieurs révoltes à Sidon (677av.J.C.) et à Tyr (671 & 663 av.J.C.).

Tyr - Arc de triomphe

A l'inverse des Assyriens, les Babyloniens, nouveaux conquérants, imposèrent un contrôle complet sur les cités phéniciennes. Dès 605 av.J.C., Nabuchodonosor, roi de Babylone, victorieux des Egyptiens à Carchemish, déporta les Phéniciens à Babylone, s'assurant ainsi le contrôle total sur les richesses du pays en particulier les forêts de cèdres. Seule la cité de Tyr résista au siège de l'envahisseur durant 13 années.

L'arrivée des Perses, suite à la prise de Babylone par Cyrus (539 av.J.C.), fut favorablement ressentie dans toutes les cités. Marins réputés, les Phéniciens participeront avec leur flotte à la campagne contre l'Egypte, leur ancien allié. De point de vue administratif, les cités phéniciennes sont intégrées à la satrapie de Transeuphratène tout en gardant une certaine autonomie. Dès cette époque l'utilisation de la monnaie se propagea. Les constructions se développèrent : à Sidon, le temple d'Echmoun à Bostan el-Cheikh témoigne de l'attachement de la famille royale sidonienne au 'roi des rois' (le roi Perse), comme le mentionne le sarcophage d'Echmounazar. A Beyrouth, la découverte d'un quartier au plan régulier de style hippodamien atteste l'expansion et la vitalité de la cité à cette époque.

Au IV°siècle cette situation de coopération fut mise à mal. Des révoltes furent soutenues par les Athéniens ou même les Egyptiens qui essayèrent de retrouver leur influence passée. Mais la répression perse fut féroce. Cette évolution des rapports va faciliter l'accueil du macédonien, Alexandre le grand, en 332 av.J.C. Les cités se soumirent sans résistance à l'exception de Tyr assiégée durant sept mois. Avec Alexandre, les cités perdirent leur autonomie, elles feront désormais partie d'une des provinces du monde hellénistique et cela jusqu'à l'arrivée des Romains.

Baalbek - Colonnes de Jupiter

Les pages de ce site consacré aux Phéniciens se veulent assez multiples et diversifiées. Vous trouverez l'histoire de chacune des cités connues tel Byblos, Sidon et Tyr. Ougarit, n'est pas une cité phénicienne, certes, mais à travers son développement et la richesse de ses échanges elle a été annonciatrice de la richesse des cités du Levant. Quant à Baalbek, connue plus par ses vestiges de l'époque romaine, elle était déjà la cité de l'intérieure assumant par excellence la liaison entre les cités de la côte et l'arrière-pays. D'autres pages sont réservées à des thèmes particuliers tel l'alphabet, l'art, la monnaie, l'expansion, des personnages célèbres : Ahiram, Hannon, ..., des héros mythiques : Europe, Adonis, ...



Notre Devise
Préserver la mémoire

Consolider l'avenir
Notre Devise

Avec notre devise, nous œuvrons pour sauvegarder la mémoire des Phéniciens qui, malheureusement, sont de plus en plus exclus des livres scolaires. Rares sont ceux qui se rappellent ce peuple, son alphabet ou ses exploits maritimes. Le plus difficile à définir est son espace géographique, son apport culturel, c'est dire à quel point les envieux ont réussi à 'ternir' le nom des Phéniciens.

Ce site consacré aux Phéniciens ne se veut en aucun cas 'idéologique'. Nous refusons explicitement tout amalgame qui pourra amener à une interprétation quelconque. Nos articles sont annotés et référencés respectant le travail des historiens et archéologues qui font le maximum pour apporter la lumière sur ce peuple longtemps 'oublié'. Nos pages sont en perpétuelle évolution et le style se veut simple, accessible à tous. Un livre d'or est à votre disposition pour tous commentaires, suggestions, ou remarques.



Retour index 'Les Phéniciens'